BERA Council

The nomination process to stand for BERA Council Election 2017 is now open, please see here for further information:

BERA Council is supported by a number of standing committees and steering groups who are tasked with actioning the decisions of BERA Council.

BERA Council is made up of the following:

The President who is elected for a period of two years as President, and two years as Vice-President on either side of their presidency.

The Vice-President. (See above).

The Treasurer works with the Executive Director in ensuring that the Association is financially compliant with all responsibilities pertaining to Companies House, Charity Commission and HMRC. The Treasurer’s role is important in helping to set and guide a long term financial strategy, and mitigating any financial risks posed to the Association.

Elected members: Each year, the Association invites members to consider standing for an elected position to the Council: there are up to twelve positions available and six co-opted vacancies for specific responsibilities. Once elected to Council, successful applicants also take on the responsibilities of acting as a Trustee of the Association. Elected members are encouraged to choose a standing committee for which they feel they could bring their skills and expertise to, these are:

  • Academic Publications Committee
  • Conference & Events Committee
  • Membership & Engagement Committee

In addition to these standing committees, the Risk Assessment and Audit Committee is made up of ex-officio members, and the British Curriculum Forum Steering Group is the custodian of the development of curricula development research within the Association, as well as acting as the Board for the Curriculum Journal. The General Purposes Committee is made up of the Chairs of the APC, CC and MEC as well as the President, Vice-President, Treasurer and the BERA Office.

Each committee has specific authority to manage various activities of the Association as delegated by BERA Council and the strategic priorities set by Council.

Council President
Gemma Moss



Council President Elect
Gary McCulloch

Council Treasurer
Sean Hayes
Hounslow Council

Lori Beckett
Leeds Beckett University

lori-beckett-220x220 Ruth Boyask
Plymouth University
Ruth Boyask Council Member and MEC

Gerry Czerniawksi
University of East London

Sara Hennessy
University of Cambridge

Joanne Hughes
Queen’s University, Belfast

Joanna Hughes

David James
Cardiff University


Ken Jones
University of London


Marilyn Leask
De Montfort University


Mark Priestley
University of Stirling


Richard Race
University of Roehampton



Nicola Rollock
University of Birmingham
 Nicola Rollock - Photo

Liz Todd
University of Newcastle


Felicity Wikeley
 Canterbury Christ Church University

 Dominic Wyse