Keynote Speakers


Pat Thomson PSM PhD FAcSS FRSA is Professor of
Education in the School of Education, The University of
Nottingham where she convenes the Centre for Research in Arts,
Creativity and Literacies ( CRACL, She worked as a school
leader for twenty years in disadvantaged schools in South Australia
before moving into higher education. She arrived in the UK in 2003.
Her writing and research is usually collaborative and focuses on socially
just pedagogies and the policy and organisational arrangements
that support them. Her current work is in three areas: (1) the arts
and creativity in schools, communities, museums and galleries, (2)
alternative education, and (3) academic writing and doctoral education.
She has published twenty two monographs and edited collections,
is an editor of Educational Action Research Journal and co-edits two
Routledge book series, Critical Approaches to Educational Leadership
Management and Administration and The Insider’s Guide to Academic
Success. Her academic writing blog Patter ( is followed
internationally, and she frequently runs writing workshops and courses
for doctoral and early career workshops around the world.


Professor Marilyn Cochran-Smith is the John E. Cawthorne
Professor of Teacher Education for Urban Schools at the
Lynch School of Education, Boston College, where she served as
Director of the PhD Program in Curriculum & Instruction from
1996-2017. Professor Cochran-Smith received the 2018 AERA
Division K Legacy Award for lifetime distinguished contributions
to teacher education. Cochran-Smith is in demand as a keynote
speaker and presenter nationally and internationally, and she
has Honorary Doctorates from both the University of Glasgow
(Scotland) and the University of Alicante (Spain). Her latest book,
with members of Project TEER (Teacher Education and Education
Reform) is Reclaiming Accountability in Teacher Education
(Teachers College Press, 2018). She is widely known for her work
about teacher education research, practice and policy and for her
sustained commitment to teacher education for social justice with
inquiry as the centrepiece.


Professor Dominic Wyse is Professor of Early Childhood
and Primary Education at the University College London
(UCL), Institute of Education (IOE), and Head of the Department
of Learning and Leadership. Dominic will be President of the British
Educational Research Association (BERA) from 2019.


Vanita Sundaram is Professor of Education at the University of York.
Her research broadly covers gender and education, focusing more specifically
on gender-based violence and teenagers; tackling everyday sexism, harassment
and abuse in education across the lifecourse; and lad cultures and sexual violence
in higher education. She is the author of numerous publications on these issues,
including Global debates and key perspectives on sex and relationships
education: Addressing issues of gender, sexuality, plurality and power
Preventing youth violence: Rethinking the role of gender in schools (2014)
and the forthcoming Exploring ‘lad culture’ in higher education:
A focus on British universities
(with Prof Carolyn Jackson). She is an
academic member of the NUS Strategy Team on Lad Culture, an advisory
board member of The 1752 Group, and is co-chair of the international Gender and Education Association.

Key Dates

31st january 2019

Abstract submission deadline

26th february 2019

Bursary application deadline

20th march 2019

Authors notified of outcome of submission

1st May 2019

Early bird deadline for registration

1st may 2019

All presenting authors to be registered

23rd may 2019

Authors notified of date and time of presentation

21st august 2019

Deadline for all ATTENDING delegates to register online at the standard registration rates



Phone: +44 (0)207 331 5217