Skip to content


2022 John Nisbet Fellows announced

Since 2014 BERA has awarded the John Nisbet Fellowship to one or more people who are deemed to have made an outstanding contribution to educational research over their career. Named in honour of our first President, this award recognises individuals who exemplify BERA’s commitment to encouraging educational research and its application for the improvement of practice and public benefit.

In 2022, we are delighted to announce the recipients as Pamela Munn and Steve Graham. Pamela is Emeritus Professor of Education at the University of Edinburg and a former BERA President  whilst Steve is Regents and the Warner Professor at Arizona State University. 

Pamela will be joining us at the conference in Liverpool in September to receive her award alongside the recipients on the 2020 and 2021 fellowships and we hope that Steve will be keynoting at a future conference. 

Profile picture of Pamela Munn
Pamela Munn, Professor Emeritus

Retired at University of Edinburgh

After teaching history in comprehensive schools in London, Pamela joined the University of Stirling as a research fellow in 1979. She was appointed as lecturer in Applied Research at the University of York in 1984 where she taught courses on...

Profile picture of Steve Graham
Steve Graham, Professor

Regents and the Warner Professor at Arizona State University

Steve Graham is a Regents and the Warner Professor at Arizona State University. He was previously a Research Professor at the Learning Science Institute at the Australian Catholic University in Brisbane as well as a faculty member at Vanderbilt...