Skip to content


BERA 2014 Election Results

Many congratulations to Prof. Gemma Moss who has been elected BERA Vice-President which means she will succeed Prof. Ian Menter as BERA President next year. Responding to her election, Gemma said,

“I am delighted to have been elected BERA Vice-President in BERA’s 40th anniversary year.  BERA’s role in developing educational research — through the new knowledge it fosters, the networks it creates, and its reach into policy and practice – remains a vital ingredient in protecting and enhancing the quality of education in the many different jurisdictions from which our members come.  I look forward to working with BERA Council and the wider membership, to ensure that we remain a vibrant and dynamic community, and well able to argue the case for the quality of our research and its contribution to the wider public good.”

Gemma’s profile page can be found at:

Gemma takes up her post in September 2014 and will assume the Presidency for two years in September 2015.

Congratulations also to Prof. David James and Prof. Dominic Wyse who were both elected to three-year terms on BERA Council. David is currently serving as a co-opted member of Council and has led the development of BERA’s Postgraduate Forum while Dominic is an Editor of the Curriculum Journal. Both begin their terms in September 2014.

Many thanks to all those who stood for election and to those who voted.